There can only be one

What song is stuck in your head (or on permanent rotation in your CD  or MP3 player) these days? Why does it speak to you?

We all know the Wizard of Oz. We all love the Wizard of Oz. We all love the song “Somewhere over the Rainbow”. I would argue that because of this song, everybody loves the Wizard of Oz. It expresses all of our hopes and dreams, sung by the young Judy Garland with the most angelic voice. Because the naive girl from Kansas not only survives, but also saves the wonderful Land of Oz just by holding on to her good old American beliefs.

Now, I know some People may hate me for this, but I friggin HATE Israel “IZ” Kamakawiwo’ole’s cover of “somewhere over the rainbow”. Sure, the guy has an appealing voice, but it just doesn’t sound right to my ears. Well, I would say “my soul”, because it pretty much expresses what I mean, but I have issues with the term “Soul”. I don’t believe in a mystical entity that continues to exist after my lights go out, but I have used the term “Soul” before as the equivalent of the cornerstone of my psyche, that is my being, undiscontinued throughout my entire life. I digress.

Yes, it pains my Soul to hear “Somewhere over the Rainbow” sung in any way different from what I know from Judy Garland, as Dorothy Gale, in the Wizard of Oz.

Why is this the subject of my earworm prompt post?

Because it is on EVERY F***ING RADIO STATION EVERY HOUR and ALL WE DO AT WORK IS LISTEN TO THE RADIO

6 thoughts on “There can only be one

    1. I haven’t heard Eva Cassidy sing the song ,or I’m not aware of having heard her sing it, in which case it stands to argue that her version is close to the original feat. Judy Garland, thus not being too hurtful to my soul. I shall determine that by listening to her version 🙂

      1. I’m sure you’d enjoy it, very slow and relaxing plus she died very young so it is quite touching

  1. Agreed! I had to drive by car for several hours today and I heard that song at least once. You have motivated me to watch some Judy Garland videos on Youtube now 🙂

  2. Right now, in the wake of the passing of the former British Prime Minister, the number one request at the top of the charts is “Ding dong the witch is dead!” Some politicians wanted to forbid radio stations in GB from playing this song.

Leave a comment