I want to ride my Bicycle

A classic. I didn’t listen to this song today on the subway train to work. I wasn’t on the subway train to work today. I rode my bike. My brand new bike. I got it today, a slightly belated present. The bike shop was closed yesterday.

It’s an 18 km ride to work (ca 11 mi). It’s the first time I rode a bicycle this far in what feels like a century. It’s just a decade. Probably. I was amazed at how well it went. I knew I could make it, but I am amazed at how easy it was. Well, relatively easy. My legs were burning when I finally arrived after an hour and ten minutes. My shirt was soaked in sweat, I was panting hard and even coughing a little. But I feel good. Better than good. I feel like I just went back in time and got my 20 year old body back.

Now, riding a bike in Nuremberg is horrible. There are very few bicycle lanes, which stop abruptly wothout any indication where to go next. People are walking around with their headphones plugged into their ears to block out the noise of traffic. It also means they don’t hear my bell ringing. And they are looking down at their smart phones, not paying attention to their surroundings. To avoid bumping into anyone or anything, they walk like old chinese women wading hip deep in mollasses.

But I feel like I want to ride my bike to work at least twice a week. When I am more routined at riding the bike, I might even make it my primary mode of locomotion

Edit: I just rode my bicycle home, and I noticed that, since my saddle is very hard, and my ass has only done lots of sitting in the past decade, aforementioned ass hurts like hell. I’ll have to do more cycling to become a true hard ass

One thought on “I want to ride my Bicycle

  1. Your ass will get used to it – but I do have an “old man’s” gel filled seat for my bike. I can ride 30 km to Hof in kust under two hours but the ride home takes three – and I’m not ambitious enough to go both ways on the same day. I’ll ride there and let someone pick me up with the car. I hope you have a good cable to lock it up with!

Leave a Reply

