Daily Prompt: Just a dream

It seems this prompt has been recycled recently, and I am now revisiting, if not revising, some of the ideas from this post.

Remarkably, I have had two nightmares rather recently. In both nightmares, I was being murdered, though not by zombies, monsters, or demonic dictators. Well, I was about to be murdered and woke up an instant before the lethal blow. I was so scared that I dared not fall asleep for a while. I needed to get my mind off the dreams.

It’s not that I was afraid of actually dying from getting killed in my dreams. That’s just ridiculous, no matter how classical “A Nightmare on Elm Street” is. I was afraid of experiencing that utter helplessness, the despair of fatality when I realized what was about to happen. I was afraid that, if I fell asleep, I would just have rewound that terrifying dream, in order to be tortured by these emotions.

I can find no explanation why I would dream anything like this in my life. The only logical explanation is that I was infected with this dream.

How can dreams be contagious? I don’t know. It certainly is weird. I had recently been in close proximity with someone who regularly experiences night terrors of the same kind, and I quickly pick up other peoples’ emotions. I’m not inferring anything supernatural here. I’m certainly not a psychich, or a medium, or whatever you might call this if you believed in that humbug. I simply have an exceptional empathy, and no matter how much I guard my emotions, I am still taken by surprise.

I really just pretend to know stuff

First of all I’d like to say I’ve missed you all. I had an extremely stressfull time lately, and, to make things worse, I came down with the flu. I have mostly recovered from that, but now my best friend got it, so he’s spending his first X-Mas vacation days in bed with 107.

 

Now, to the actual post according to the prompt:

You’re having a nightmare, and have to choose between three doors. Pick one, and tell us about what you find on the other side.

I haven’t had a nighmare in a VERY long time. Modern media have simply jaded me towards terror, be it drooling zombies out for my brains, a maniac with a hockey-mask wielding a machete or a clown with razor teeth. I live in the safest country in the world (i.e. Germany), so does my core family, and those who live in the States…

View original post 140 more words

Leave a Reply

