Daily Prompt: The Outsiders

Tell us about the experience of being outside, looking in — however you’d like to interpret that.

When I saw this prompt, I immediately jumped at it. I thought “I was excluded from a lot of things in my life, so I oughta know what it means to be the one looking in”. Well, I’m not particularly wrong about that. What I am not particularly right about is that this is going to be a peace of cake. Because even though I have been often excluded from popular activities, I have learned how to infiltrate the groups that I want to be part of. Looking in, observing, becoming. I am still considered the odd one, but not the odd one out, and it’s not like being the odd one comes without perks. I can be all mysterious, behave irrational, fall out of uniform.

Well, now I go with a crowd of odd ones. My line of work is often considered a last resort. Those who chose it from thw start are the odd ones among the odd ones. Security is either boring or dangerous, sometimes both. But I enjoy the solitude and serenity of the night and weekend shifts. It gives me time and space for intense introspection and creativity. Only boring people are easily bored, according to a German proverb. I digress.

You see, being on the outside isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Accepting it is difficult, but most worth while things are. And there is always a Group of people willing to accept.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Outsiders

  1. I managed to get into some circles that shut me out by being the clown. If you can’t join them, then entertain them – I regret this now, but only a little. Sometimes the circles that shut me out weren’t worth the effort it took trying to get accepted.

Leave a Reply

