Inner Monologue

I speak to myself very often. I’m a bit crazy, somewhat weird. That’s not really news. My most recent inner monologue involved my mistrust for Psychotherapists. It’s not technically mistrust. I have never been in psychotherapy, so what would be my reason to mistrust psychotherapists. I have friends and relatives who suffer from psychological ailments, and they have been helped greatly by psychotherapists. There is no obvious reason.

I myself believe very much in the science that psychotherapy is based upon. I believe it is the reason for the great help Psychotherapists were able to render onto my troubled friends and relatives. Would I not benefit from psychotherapy? Perhaps I might. I don’t know. What I do know is that I can’t stand it when psychotherapists do their Mojo on me when I’m not asking for it. I know he’s going to find some character traits that could be considered pathological in me. Why wouldn’t I want to know whether I have those (I probably do) and what they are?

Sometimes, for true, ignorance is bliss. If I have pathological character traits, they will manifest in detrimental behavior. If I behave in a detrimental way, I or the people in my vicinity will suffer from it; probably both. If I recognize suffering that originates from my behavior, I am confident that I can change my behavior, and reduce or eliminate the pathological trait.

Example: For a few months, my Liver has been acting up. Aminotransferase levels in my serum indicate some kind of damage. It is being investigated by a hepatologist. For the investigation, I am staying sober for a month – it’s been 23 Days now without alcohol. I usually drink a lot. I don’t drink so much that I can’t afford my necessities, but I wasn’t saving much money either. 23 days sober, and I have so much money on my bank account, I don’t know what to do with it. Well, I do. I’m saving it. Next year, I want to go to advanced training for my security career, which will allow me to take on more responsibility at work, increasing my net income by 30%. If I stay on this course, I will have no trouble at all financially as long as anyone is inclined to pay for security. There is never a shortage of people with things worth protecting. You get my line of thinking. Since my severe reduction of alcohol consumption is beneficial to my financial security, it is reasonable to assume that reverting to my former consumption pattern would be detrimental. As the sane person I perceive myself to be, it is the thing to do. If I find that I can’t do it, then I should see a psychotherapist, and find out why I can’t stop drinking. But if I can do it by myself, which I believe I can, the hepatologist was all I needed.

Addendum: In that last paragraph, I did say that I believe I am sane, right? Does that not contradict my being a bit crazy and weird? I don’t believe so. Crazy and weird are just words people say to other people who aren’t them, and I’m not people. After all, I find being weird and crazy very beneficial. You wouldn’t be reading this, were I normal, right? RIGHT?

2 thoughts on “Inner Monologue

  1. A former colleague of mine has become a psychotherapist – and he explained the latest trends to me. It seems that the classical ‘Freudian’ approach is questioned more and more. So some more modern schools of thought rather try to focus on making the patient actually do something (beneficial) and focus on intended goals. No more endless discussions about the past and potential root causes of whatnot, but more of trying out what really helps. This seems to be backed up by studies in neuroscience that could associate beneficial things and actions with brain activity rather than by the older theories for whom there does not seem to be too much ‘hard science’ evidence.

    Such psychotherapists might say it does not matter ‘why you do something detrimental’ but would try to find a trick that helps you focus on something else (or whatever may work…).

Leave a Reply

