What I don’t like about “Like”

Don’t get me wrong: I am not telling you to stop “like”-ing my posts. It does make me feel good about myself and my writing. Still, I often wonder whether people who “like” my posts have actually read what I’ve written. You see, my narcissistic tendency has a quirk. It doesn’t blindly count “like”s, it wants to know why it was liked. Was it amusing, inspiring, slightly disturbing, weird, witty and poetic? What did it remind the reader of?

A “like” goes a good way to bolster confidence, but a comment is so much better. I know I sometimes just leave a “like” for other people’s posts without comment. Mostly, because I am dumbfounded. I just can’t think of an appropriate response sometimes, no matter how well I can tell the flavor of a popsicle by sitting on it. Sometimes, I don’t take the time to read the entire post, and then I just like it. Since this even happens to me, a person with so much time on their hands, what does that say about the people with 5 to 9 jobs, trying to support their families financially and morally? Since I haven’t even been featured on “freshly pressed”, I can’t just assume that I am a genius and everyone else is too stupid to find an appropriate answer. I am a Genius, no doubt. But I’m not the only one, and I certainly don’t pour all of my creative potential into WordPress, which is sort of required if you wish to be freshly pressed.

So, whenever you like my posts and comments, please do write something in response. I need it to keep going on WordPress.

One thought on “What I don’t like about “Like”

  1. Haha, I just have ‘liked’ your post on soulful machines. I think my reason for doing that is that I only comment if something coherent comes to my mind immediately.

    When I read that posts my stream of consciousness was like:
    …I read a book by Kurzweil last year, and I did not like it very much – however, if I write down an opinion of mine I’d rather provide some justification… and I usually fail to do so in less than 1000 words….
    …I am eagerly waiting for Nicholas Carr’s new book on automation to be published by the end of September as I also try to reconcile my apparently ambiguous opinions about automation (that could be generalized to intelligent machines): I profit from it as my job(s) would not exist without it but I always say in the future I might be among the outlaws living outside the cities goverened my machines (as in dystopion science fiction movies)….
    As you see, I leave such stream of consciousness post sometimes – but I rather like to comment if I can immediately relate the post to something I really know or I have experienced or I have an educated opinion about. I am also wary of scattering comments all over the web that I will not be able to edit in the future – so any comment should be likely to be part of my more stable set of opinions / personality traits. Actually, this was even a reason I stayed away from interactive socia media for so long though I was an early ‘creator of static web content’.

Leave a Reply

