Daily Prompt: Fearless Fantasies

How would your life be different if you were incapable of feeling fear? Would your life be better or worse than it is now?

Now that’s a silly question, Jim. If I couldn’t feel fear, my life would have been over a long time ago.

Imagine all the times that you’ve wanted to pass that S.o.B. who is driving 5 miles slower than than he’s allowed to. Imagine now what you would have done if you had no fear. You’d be squished somewhere between metal parts, wires, plastic and carbon fibers. You wouldn’t have waited for a reasonable time to pass, because without fear, there is no reason to wait.

Also, life would be quite boring if you did survive those incidents unharmed. Fear also brings the thrill in doing dangerous stuff. There would be no reason to take more or less calculated risks.

Also, without fear, there would be less personal development. I was very fearful as a child. Well, I showed my fear, more than other kids did. I imagine that it took me more work to overcome my fears than it did many others, and I’m stronger for doing so.

Fear is something to overcome, but it’s not the enemy.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Fearless Fantasies

Leave a Reply

