(Manual) reblog: My Cyber House Rules: The Right to Pursue Happiness

I could go on about consumerism, how it misleads us into believing that it can fill the void in us left by the absurd gap between our meaning-seeking mind and a meaningless world, but that would imply that I know a better way, which simply isn’t true. Yes, I am using a snippet of your post to write about something completely tangential to your post, Marie. My blog wouldn’t be worthy of its caption if I didn’t digress, which is exactly what I am doing now in the second degree. Since we are being progressively digressive, why don’t we go to the third degree, by celebrating my first multiple digression post, which is a reblog (of sorts. WordPress wouldn’t let me reblog Marie’s post, for some reason. Have you deactivated Reblogs, Marie?) nonetheless.

Back on topic, I had semi-promised to write a post about absurdism in a comment to another blogger’s post – do check out the absurdist chronicles while you’re at it. How was it a semi-promise? What is a semi-promise after all, you ask? Simple. I sort of knew I was going to do it eventually, I just didn’t know when, and announced it with reservation. So, for our feature presentation: How I realized I have always been an absurdist.

I’ll need to back up a little, history-wise. Two weeks ago, I reconnected with an old friend. We had kind of abruptly stopped talking to each other when I moved to Nuremberg a year ago. We had both been super busy, me with my job and settling into a new city, him with meeting a new girlfriend, turned fiance expecting a child, and writing his dissertation on pen&paper roll playing games’ contribution to developing social skills, team-building capacities and ethical values. He has been at his dissertation for the past four (?) years. I was instrumental in his efforts to develop a sound theory as part of his test group for years, when he was still working on his master’s degree, which focused on the dramaturgical aspects of pen&paper roll playing games, which was more fun than work. There’s a lot of pen&paper  rpg going on here, and he got a wife, you ask? Let me be clear: pnprpg is not exclusively the realm of socially awkward teenagers with skin problems and glasses so thick to round off the alien look. It still is a somewhat nerdy past time, but nerds are becoming increasingly popular with TV shows like The Big Bang Theory out there. I digress. Pnprpg is only tangential in my realization of my absurdism, though it was very much involved in me meeting my friend in the first place. And without meeting my friend, roughly eight years ago, I would have not met his girlfriend, and it was talking to her that lead me to this epiphany. Actually, this kind of reminds me, tangentially again, of another TV show, where the protagonist tells the story of how he met his wife to his teenage kids. By the time he finishes, his kids could have kids of their own. I don’t intend to keep you that long, just throwing a thought your way, that this might also make it to 200+ episodes. If a TV show producer picks up on this idea, the one to play me should be Jared Padalecki, a.k.a. Sam Winchester. Back on track, Nick. So, I was visiting my friend, and he had to attend a meeting with his professor, so his girlfriend/fiance entertained each other with tea, biscuits and talk. She is a hippie musician from Ireland, so we have plenty in common. So what do people like me talk about when we first meet? Emotional baggage, music, and world view. And when it comes to world view, I rarely tell the same thing twice. That’s not because my perception of the world changes so much in a very short time, but because every time I talk about it to another person, I need to adapt to their respective world view, and I also learn something about my own perception. So, for the first time in my life, talking to my friend’s fiance, I called myself an absurdist. She asked me if that was a movement that already existed. I didn’t know for sure if what I had sold her was solid, so I said that I like to spontaneously coin phrases, and if there was a movement that called itself absurdist, they were probably about something else than what I had described it to be, kind of like my post on perceptionism from a while back.

No, I had no idea how well I had nailed it. I haven’t read Albert Camus. He is pretty much considered the godfather of the absurdist movement in Philosophy. So, when I read about Absurdism by Camus on The Absurdist Chronicles, and after that, Wikipedia, I realized that I have always been an absurdist. Because the best way to prove a scientific or philosophical theory is by checking if someone else gets to the same conclusion in isolation to your own research.

One thought on “(Manual) reblog: My Cyber House Rules: The Right to Pursue Happiness

Leave a Reply

