Daily Prompt: Wasted Days and Wasted Nights

Tell us your tried and true techniques for focusing when that deadline looms and you need to get work done. In other words, how do you avoid wasted days and wasted nights?

I couldn’t tell you how I handle deadlines, in general, if I wanted to. I just don’t have a method that I’ve applied to every deadline that I’ve been confronted with. The most common deadline I encounter is also bears the least consequence, if I miss it, but it is the one I handle best. Well, best to my mind. Some people find it obnoxious that I am always early. I have an appointment, and I am mostly 15 minutes early. And everyone else is late by at least the same amount of time. I’ve gotten used to waiting. I don’t even mind, so long as it’s under an hour. I don’t even remind people of teir tardiness. Maybe that’s what people find obnoxious.

Other deadlines, I just procrastinate until it’s too late. Then I freak out, and try to save my endeavor, until I finally realize that I won’t possibly make it, at which point I resign to my failure. That’s of course when the deadline really is an ultimate deadline, one that absolutely can’t be pushed.

If it’s a deadline that can be pushed, instead of resigning, I push the deadline after a phase of zeal, procrastinate a bit, until the time arrives to freak out again. Which means I never keep my own deadlines, as long as nobody else is depending on my work. When somebody else depends on my work, I do my best to keep my zeal up until I am finished, even if I need to pull an all-nighter. Or two. Maybe more. I have tbe energy, I just need proper motivation to put it to work. I digress.

Sometimes, though, I just do it the right way from the start. I get to work, and finish way before the deadline. Then I can go over it again, and make sure I’m not sloppy.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Wasted Days and Wasted Nights

  1. Thank you, great inspiring blog, i’m so looking forward to start reading and discovering what you write on here.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

