The program so far

I know I’ve committed myself to improving my blog by joining the Zero to Hero in 30 days program. But really, the things they propose are not what I’d had in mind.

My blog really is only about writing. In order to navigate efficiently, I have created my “Neck of the Woods” page. Maybe I could improve a little on that, but about that at a later point in time. perhaps. I don’t want many stupid widgets, and when I add something other than writing, it really is only to support my writing. Sometimes my blog contains personal information about me, but it’s not a “me” blog. O.K., it’s lots of information about me, but that’s not what this is about! I don’t Twitter, I find FaceBook horrible, I don’t do instagram or whatsapp, or all of that other baloney. Many of the other tasks in the program I have always adhered to, at times rather fervently. Well, at least when I was unemployed. Like going to other people’s blogs, commenting on their posts and stuff. But I did the to my mind necessary personalizations of my blog pretty much in the beginning.

What I want are sensible writing prompts. I know it’s not easy to come up with new and interesting stuff every day, but honestly, a lot of them simply suck. Maybe it’s just the prompt text, or maybe it’s just me, but I take these very literally, and when it says “the most”, or “the least”, or any other kind of superlative expression, I go on a soul search for that superlative experience. That is, when I do write something. Well, I digress, since the daily prompts do not belong to the Zero to Hero in 30 days program.

Yes, really all I want to do is write, and all I want my readers to do is read. I don’t want them to be distracted by Twitter this and FaceBook that. I don’t want them to know what is up with “me”, though they involuntarily do when they read my stuff, to a certain degree, but that is only to provide a personal context for the content.

But then, maybe I’m old fashioned. But I’m o.k. with that. I’d also rather punch someone in the face than have a lawyer make his life a living hell. Yes, even though I am a pacifist, I prefer violence over whatever you call lawyering up. Pacifism isn’t only about the way we conduct our conflicts, but also about why we get into them, and ruining someone’s life in court, for whatever reason, is despicable compared to a painful lesson in manners. Unless they’re some kind of baby murdering serial rapist. I digress.

No, that doesn’t mean I’m not modern. It just means that I think it’s often good to concentrate, which is what you should do when you’re reading this blog.

2 thoughts on “The program so far

Leave a Reply

