Movie Impression: The Hunger Games

It took me a while to get myself to watch The Hunger Games. I must say, I should have watched the movie earlier. There’s this thing where I don’t watch overly popular movies all too enthusiastically, I think it is a traumatic remnant of the Twilight saga. I don’t trust the opinion of people who enjoyed any of those movies. I’m not going to say the movie is good or bad, since I am still in the progress of watching it. I am going to tell you what it does well.

Let me start with what it sucks at: surprises. Up to now, everything that has happened is extremely obvious. The actual games are starting right now, they are counting down to the moment where the contestants may leave their starting positions to battle amongst each other. Of course, in an earlier post, which I don’t want to look for at the moment, I stated it needn’t be a bad thing when a movie doesn’t surprise.

So, what does a movie have to do well if it isn’t out for suspense? Let’s take an example from classical drama: highly structured, fixed characters, no suspense, yet highly entertaining. We still use this form of entertainment, obviously, as you might now every Steven Seagal Film from watching only one, and he still manages to rake in a decent (or indecent, depending on definition) amount of money for each of his flicks. Yes, the word we are looking for has already fallen: We are out for Drama. And this movie definitely appeases our need for Drama. This is done best by ritualizing the plot. We know what we should feel about which character, whom to love, whom to pity, despise, admire, adore.

The context of the characters in the setting is fairly well spun, albeit a little forced. The setting itself, where the Utopian Society of the Capital is founded on the Dystopian outside world, the suppressed Districts, is a classic. As I’ve stated, high quality Drama.

2 thoughts on “Movie Impression: The Hunger Games

  1. I haven’t seen The Hunger Games, but I heard it described as The Running Man for tweens. I happen to be tired of Hollywood remakes and rehashes of old ideas, however, as you mention there are some ‘classic’ tropes. I wonder if the ancient Greeks, for example, complained “Let me guess, the hero is done in by his hubris, his tragic flaw, if you will. Boring! We’ve seen that one before.”

    1. Yes, I have also read about the running man comparison, though that is not quite correct; The Running Man, feat. Arnold Schwarzenegger, has only a dystopian future and an arena in common with The Hunger Games; THG is more of a mix of Battle Royale and The Long Walk , both quite horrifying masterpieces, but to reduce it to those two would be oversimplifying the matter

Leave a Reply

