Daily Prompt: Brainwave

What’s the best idea you’ve ever had? Regale us with every detail of the idea — the idea itself, where it came to you, and the problem it solved.

I have tons of great ideas. Which one of those is the best can only be shown in the long run, and most good ideas that I have actually acted on have been rather recent. I suspect blogging on WordPress.com is right up there with the #1, if it isn’t holding that spot itself, in which case it would be defending the title of idea champion against quitting school to get into the security business and buying a tailored suit, which is still in the future, though it is a direct consequence of watching How I met Your Mother and realizing Barney Stinson is the most awesome person ever to flicker over a screen, and totally worth emulating.

Wait, what are you saying? Getting an Idea from a TV series doesn’t count, because it’s not my own idea? Shut the front door and get out of town! Very few ideas, if any at all, are our “own” ideas in the sense that they originated in our brains. We usually get them somewhere else, by example or advice from friends and family, commercials (a.k.a. advertisement), or opportunity slash necessity. Like I bought a suitcase today because I am spending New Year’s Eve in Berlin and I didn’t want to stuff my clothes into my gym bag which mysteriously smells like cat piss and there wasn’t time to wash it. It’S a really nice suitcase, by the way, a rather small, black hard case. I don’t need a big suit case, because I like travelling lightly. Which reminds me: I will probably need to buy a new towel, because I forgot to pack one, but you can’t ever have too many towels, or socks, or underwear, which I did pack.

Buying a suitcase was a really good idea, but it still ranks mediocre compared to the others. But maybe it will catch up, if the suitcase proves extremely useful. But really, it would have to pay some tribute to getting that job in the security business, because that job is the reason why I became eligible for the credit card that paid for the suitcase. And getting the job will have difficult standing against blogging on WordPress, because that’s where I gained the confidence and personal insight to turn my life around and get a job. And where did I start blogging on WordPress? In Russia. Who put me up to it? My best friend, who needed an editor for his site, for which he hasn’t written in over a year. But Russia, WordPress and my job in security are the idea complex that occupies Rank #1 of the bestest ideas I have ever had. Let’s see if How I met Your Mother, specifically Barney Stinson, and having a suit tailored, can hold a candle to WordPress.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Brainwave

  1. That was indeed an interesting post ! Loved your shut the front door thing 😀 Well life is a series of ideas…some good ones and some dumb ones…all that matters is how their results turn out.

    1. First of all, Welcome to my mind, and what I pretend to know 😉 and thanks for commenting. As for dumb ideas, I learned that there is mostly a silver lining to everything, as long as you don’t take serious harm, so a dumb idea would have to be super stupid to not be good 😉

  2. Geat post! I wonder how many ideas we actually get from TV series – though we don’t recognize it. I am a child of the 1970s and 1980s – everybody watched the same series as there was not much choice, so we are kind of a very clichéd generation and everybody had related ideas, I guess.

Leave a Reply

