Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive

If you were forced to give up one sense, but gain super-sensitivity in another, which senses would you choose?

I am assuming the prompt is referring to our primary senses, i.e. sight, touch, hearing and olfactory, but really, those aren’t the only senses we have. Also, being hyper-sensitive takes some getting used to, too. I notice that every time I’ve had one too many, and even the slightest sound or above-normal lighting causes excruciating sensory overload, a.k.a pain. Heat or cold, on the other hand, don’t bother me much when I’m hung over. Okay, why is this person so hung up on alcohol abuse, you might ask yourself now? I’m not, I just have lots of experience with it! Also, I’m quite sure it is one thing many people can relate to. Yes, being able to relate is also a sense. It heavily relies on all of our primary senses, but it isn’t processed in any of our primary sensory cortices. It is a special function of our brains.

I consider myself very empathic. But I could do with even more empathy. What sense would I give up for that? I don’t know. As long as my senses are functioning properly, I like them all, and I can’t imagine living without one of them, or having one drastically reduced. While having more empathy would make me even more “me”, discarding a method of experience wouldn’t help in developing my empathy, except perhaps for people who lack the same primary sense.

Leave a Reply

