Never say Never

Have you ever gone to a new place or tried a new experience and thought to yourself, “I’m never doing that again!” Tell us about it.

I’ve quite taken that proverb as my life motto. There’s really nothing I can exclude, I can’t say "I will never do that". There are things I would never do. There is a very wide array of Drugs that I don’t ever want to take, given the choice. But, when I was in the hospital for my first pulmonary embolism at the age of 19, and in the ICU, I was given diamorphine, a.k.a. Heroin, to numb the pain from the massive inflammation in my chest. I could have turned it down, I was still conscious, up to the point when the narcotic entered my veins.

And no, the first dose doesn’t make you an addict. But the second might. But, compared to when I first got to the ICU, after twelve hours, the pain was bearable. I didn’t need another shot. I don’t want another shot, unless I develop inoperable cancer some day. But there’s exactly the point: There are very few ways to influence the future, because we know so little about it. We are obsessed with forecasts and plans. Granted, I have written a post about planning, and how it is better to have a plan than nothing at all. It is also better to try than just to let happen, but we have no control. There are too many unknowns.

I can’t even say I won’t go to the movie theatre again to watch a sappy movie, which I absolutely hate. Well, I don’t go there for the movie, in that case, what comes after is totally worth it…

6 thoughts on “Never say Never

  1. I’ve done a lot of stuff I swore I would never do. I’m sure I’m not done doing the stuff I don’t ever want to do either. That’s what makes life so supreme! 🙂

Leave a Reply

