Daily Prompt: Groundhog Day

In the comedy “Groundhog Day” Bill Murray experienced the same day again and again, stuck in a time loop until he got the day “right.” What day would you choose to repeat until you got it right? Do you think it’s ever possible to get life “right”?

First things last, so: Yes, you can get it right. But, I don’t know what that means, neither how to do it. If anyone tells you otherwise, they are wrong. I mean in the way that anyone who tells you that they know what that means, and how to do it, is a charlatan. What is the female form of charlatan? Charlatress, charlatiness, or charlatrine?

Maybe we don’t need to know what it means to get it right, maybe knowing how to do it would only impede us.

I had a grand plan for my life, once. I actually had many grand plans, that differed  vastly one from another, depending on what stage of life I made them in. When I was 6, I wanted to become a fire fighter. When I was 10, I wanted to be the President of the United States. At the age of 16, I wanted to be a physicist, like Albert Einstein.

As you can see, I am neither a fire fighter, nor the President of the United States, and no physicist has read any paper of mine, because I haven’t written any. I am a security guard in a print factory, with aspirations of becoming a fiction novelist. I am a member of the voluntary fire department in the village I grew up in, and I failed at the University in Physics, so somewhere, those two plans had a very real influence in my life. Maybe, someday, I will declare my apartment a sovereign nation, or, if I become a famous fiction novelist, I will buy my own island, where I can be president, but other than that, my political ambitions have died or never developed.

Now, the answer to the big question, whether there is a day I would like to repeat until I got it “right” (maybe you’ve already guessed it): I don’t know. I am utterly unable to identify a singular day in my life, when getting it “right” would have set my life on the path of either the fire fighter, the physicist, or the President. Or maybe I got that day right, without knowing it, that led me to what I am doing now, which I am rather happy with

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Groundhog Day

  1. Groundhog Day is one of my favorite favorite favorite movies ever! But if it teaches you anything it is that you will not want to repeat any day in your life forever.
    Probably I’d pick a very dull day, one without any social interactions – so I would have a chance to read a different book every day for example, and thus make every instance of this day a different one.

Leave a Reply

