Daily Prompt: The Glass

Is the glass half-full, or half-empty?

It’s a classic, isn’t it? What makes it a classic? It can be asked over and over and over again. And everybody will give you a different answer every time. And I don’t only mean that everybody will rather randomly say “half-full” or “half-empty”, but they will come up with all kinds of creative answers. One of my favorites is “It’s always full, because air is something, too”. In Germany, instead of telling the bartender to refill your glass with beer, you can order him to “let the air out” of your glass, your mug, or whatever else you are drinking from (pitcher, boot, bathtub, pool). I digress.

What is my personal answer for today? If my glass is devoid of whatever beverage I desire, I’ll just go and get some, and fill my glass. Because if your glass is empty, and it is within your power to fill it, then you shouldn’t complain. That’s what Douchebag’s do.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: The Glass

  1. Complaining – a choice or prerogative of every ‘douchebag’. I do my share of complaining, but I also do my share of refilling my glass too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So that must make me half a douchebag???

    1. well, like I wrote in my post about douchebagginess, we are all douches from time to time; it’s not a character trait, but a (hopefully temporary) behavior. If it isn’t temporary, but chronic, well, that’s when the a- and the b-word, sometimes even the c-word apply

      1. Yes, D.B behaviour is something we do all succumb to in fleeting moments of despair. Being a D.B 24/7 could be problematic – and yes, would indeed warrant a few harsh words 😀

Leave a Reply

