Daily Prompt: Clone Wars

If you could clone yourself, how would you split up your responsibilities?

That would be assuming that my clone would magically be as matured as I am when he is created. If I were cloned, I would want my Clone to mature naturally, as if he were my son, just with the same DNA; well, maybe a few minor improvements, so he wouldn’t have to go through the same medical shit I had to, but still, basically a younger me with a second chance, to become everything I could have become if the circumstances had been a little different. It’s not like my parents did anything wrong; it’s just that there is always room for improvement.

My responsibility to my clone would be to provide for him, also pretty much any way a father would provide for his son (ideally; we all know good and bad parenting examples). I would have him learn useful basic skills like carpenting, blumbing, electrical works, and smithing, how to handle a firearm, basic martial arts, but mostly, which is more of my specialty, philosophy and ethics.

His responsibility would be to put the skills to good use, and build a legacy, and to teach the next clone what I have taught him. That way, I could live on forever 😉

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Clone Wars

    1. well, if I had the choice, I would want to upload my conscience to the internet as well, but the point of my post could be seen as that I don’t “own” my DNA, and that my clones are individuals in their own right, and anyone’s relationship to their clones shouldn’t be any different from their relationship to their siblings/children, if cloning ever becomes a widespread practice

  1. His responsibility would be to put the skills to good use, and build a legacy, and to teach the next clone what I have taught him. That way, I could live on forever”

    I like that. I often use the word ‘stewardship’ to convey the idea that parents should teach children to be stewards of wealth for the next generation. Of course wealth can be in monetary terms or non-monetary as I use it on my blog.

Leave a Reply

