A plan is better than nothing at all

What are you more comfortable with — routine and planning, or laissez-faire spontaneity?

It rarely is anything elaborate, and it doesn’t have to be. I like my plans that way: they allow me to improvise. If I have a to do list, I estimate how long it takes, add 50%, and then it usually works out and I don’t get too close to any deadlines.

It wasn’t always like that. When I go all laissez-faire, I only do what I like doing, not what needs doing, and that’s pretty much how I spent the first 26 years of my life. I’m only turning 28 in a few days, so, as you can see, I haven’t made many plans yet. Two plans have worked out pretty good now, and they are linked: getting a job and an apartment. There are still a few minor details I have to take care of, but they don’t give me any pause.

The point is, it doesn’t have anything to do with my comfort zone whether I make plans or not. I do it because I have to, in order to get anything done. I am far more comfortable without having to plan, alas, that is not the case. I also have to plan what to do with my wages. If I simply spend them on anything I want to have, I won’t be able to go on vacation in this lifetime, which I really want to do. Once I’m on vacation, I need to set an amount to spend per day, minimum and maximum; as long as I remain within that range, I can do whatever I f-ing please.

I still try to get by with the absolute minimum of planning possible, and I seem to have an aptitude for it. I do get rather uncomfortable, however, when someone or something sabotages my simple plans, out of malice or incompetence doesn’t really matter for me on that account. That’s when I start multitasking on two plans: how to fix my old plan, and how to punish the saboteur…

3 thoughts on “A plan is better than nothing at all

  1. Your dad sent me your blog address. I’m sure you are sick of hearing this: you sound just like him! I will be watching your progress, plan or no plan. Rock on.

    1. It took a little reading of your blog to find out who my dad gave my blog address to. Welcome to WordPress! Yeah, those people who do know my dad say that I sound a lot like him. I wouldn’t say sick of it, though; not a lot of people who know my dad read what I write

Leave a Reply

