Catching a break

For a while there, I was starting to believe that catching a break was a fairy tale we are fed by the media in our daily soap operas, but they do happen; I caught an epic break by getting a job and an apartment, all in the same month. My buddy and roommate has been a pessimist for a long time now, but he isn’t the reason why I felt that way, or, at least, not the only reason.

But my buddy did provide me with an insight. Well, it was actually there in plain sight. The way you look at the world actually has an impact on your world itself. Perception is everything. It’s as simple as this: If you don’t look for a break, you can’t catch one. If you don’t believe that anything good can happen to you, if your outlook on your future is utterly bleak, well, then you are doomed to a life of despair. I’m not superstitious, but it was like a curse. I couldn’t get anything done, because I believed it was pointless. I was content with the fact that my life wasn’t going anywhere. I was Ok with wasting my days away with playing videogames and drinking alcohol until I passed out. I couldn’t pinpoint the time when my attitude turned, it probably happened in steps, gradually. I did very much notice a difference when I started blogging for real. I tried blogging once before, when I was stinking drunk, I only wrote two posts on that blog and gave up after I found I had no audience at all, but that wasn’t on WordPress, where I have a wonderful community. I digress.

Blogging did two things for me. Well, maybe it’s just one thing. I choose to present it as two items, after all, perception, and in extension presentation, is everything:

· I was exposed to new thoughts and perspectives

· Writing about myself forced me to think about myself

I read a lot of blogs. Most of those blogs are very much like journals, people write about their problems, worries and fears for everyone to read; also their opinions, but they are intimately linked to the problems, worries and fears. I try to present people with solutions, or at least sympathy. Why do I do it? Well, because I do sympathize. The anonymity on the Internet gives me the luxury of not having to care, so when I do care, I can do it completely and honestly. Being exposed to those stories, of course, also gives me the urge to share my own feelings and faults, not only in the comment section for everyone who happens to stumble on the post I happened to read, but on my own blog for everyone who cares to find directly. You can see now where this all could be presented as one single item. It’s not even a dualism, but more of an action – counteraction relationship, like Newton’s third law of motion. I digress.

So, in danger of sounding like one big softy and hippy, both of which I may even be, I will say this: Share and Care, it will improve you and your environment, but be honest about it. When someone’s being a total dick to you, stand up for yourself or walk away, but don’t let them tear you down. Easier said than done, I know. But you’ll catch a break, when you’re looking for it.

2 thoughts on “Catching a break

  1. Interesting post. Blogging does help you think about yourself, and your own motivations. Solutions – well, perhaps not everyone wants those. Yet, for me reading people’s responses to what I write is interesting and often thought provoking. Great to know a little bit more about your ‘feelings’ about blogging.
    Bex 🙂

Leave a Reply

