What I do care about…

Yesterday, I attended the carneval party of my parents’ church parish. That sounds kind of formal, and yes, Germany is the country of formalities, but really, it was just a lot of people I know from my youth getting rotten drunk to bad music. I had a very good time until the owner of our village Gasthaus (Inn) and my brother got really drunk and wanted to go home. Only one car, so we all left the party, and I hardly had the time to finish my conversation with a very pretty girl who has just about come of age.

In this conversation, I heard about a rather surprising rumor, that seems to have started spreading maybe 3 years ago or so. Rumor is, I’m gay.

To quote Ralof of Riverwood from TESV: Skyrim:”I can harldy believe it myself, and I was there!”.

Usually, I don’t care what people say and think about me, as long as they don’t give me any shit. And to my homosexual friends and readers: I don’t think there’s anyting wrong with being gay. But I’m not gay. Maybe my lack in homophobia has led people to the assumption, or because I bring my best friend from college to parties in my home village. Maybe both. I don’t really care.

What I do care about is that this rumor probably undermined my search for casual and/or long term relationships with women. And another probability estimation puts this rumor not only in my home village, but maybe also almost everywhere else that I have lived.

I guess my dumbfoundedness and the look on my face convinced the girl that the rumor is quite the opposite from the truth, as I have her telephone number 😉 I might just send her a text when I’m in the area again

5 thoughts on “What I do care about…

  1. There have also been some of the same rumors circulating about your father – the main difference is, those rumors have significant basis in factual events! But your father doesn’t care, since he’s not looking for a girl friend – he will probably remain with his wife of 36 years. And his men friends don’t seem to care as long as he doesn’t mention it to often (but they all know).

  2. I really need to go to Germany .. anywhere that’s called a village is fine with me. I actually had a dream about going last night … it was awesome. And yes, give the gal a text 🙂

    1. I think I’m seeing her on monday. I am meeting a prospective employer, and because I’m broke, I need to visit my parents (again) so I can pay for the train ticket.

      I hope your good dreams come true, especially the awesome ones 😉

  3. Oh dear, people, societal norms and expectations – they just don’t mix well. I wonder, if these people truly thought it to be true, why didn’t they say it to you? Perhaps, they are ashamed of such things, or maybe thought you would/should be? This type of assumption happens, and annoys me; as you have stated already, there is nothing wrong with being gay. This notion that men and women belong together otherwise there is something weird, something odd going on is archaic. Perhaps though this is the point, these ideas are from the older generations more than younger ones?
    Bex 🙂

Leave a Reply

