DPChallenge: ebook vs paperback

I’ll get right to the point – as I usually don’t. Ebooks rule. Sure, opening a new book is a great feeling, but every era has an end, and the printed book has had a good run for over 500 years in Europe, and even longer in Asia. I bet they had the same discussion back then: “Isn’t it much more fun to unroll a scroll, or to admire the monks’ calligraphy?”

Sure, it’s also got style to having a shelf full of books, and among many of my professors, it was also a kind of code to show which colleagues you admired, what your area and level of expertise is, or simply to impress.

Well, I like to read. I do my impressing and flaunting of my expertise (or lack thereof) by posting on the internet. That, in my opinion, invalidates that pro of the good old paperback. Well, for me that is. I’m not going to force any agreements here (as if I could).

Any other advantages to an old-fashioned book? Depending on how hard and heavy it is, you can use it as a weapon, and at a thickness of about 800 pages you can also block a caliber .50 bullet with it – or so I heard. There are probably better Items in your household to defend yourself from armed intruders than books.

Ebooks, well, aside from being able to buy books on the fly for little money and not having to haul all the weight around and only using up a few cubic centimeters, which are reasons enough for me to prefer the ebook over the paperback, you don’t need a light to read them. Really, finding the right lighting to read a book nicely, and a good position so the light will actually illuminate both pages of the book entirely is a real issue for me. I like to read lying in bed on my side, and I like to shift from my right to my left every 50 pages or so because I also rest my head on my hand, which goes numb after a while. So, wen I’m lying on one side, usually my left side, the light is ok for reading. When I’m on my right side, however, my broad back and shoulders block out most of the light from my lamp. I wouldn’t mind leaving the light on with my ebook reader, but it is not essential for the reading process. Also, I don’t have to hold the book open while I shift sides. Sometimes I lose my page when I do it, especially with thick books like the ones form the series of “A Song of Ice and Fire”.

3 thoughts on “DPChallenge: ebook vs paperback

  1. There are also advantages for writers publishing in ebook.
    Lower prices translate into wider readership, it’s easier than ever to self publish, and keep most of the money for yourself. Also, published writers see very little money from royalties, you get only your advance. If advance was low, you’re screwed. I’ll be fair, though, and add that if you don’t earn out your advance you’re screwed anyway. But hey, if market doesn’t like you you’re screwed no matter what way you publish.

    Also, distribution is easier- theoretically you can send ebook as email attachment, which arrives instantly. Not to mention ridiculously low storage costs, and even if bandwith gets high, you still earn more than you lose. This is something for traditional publish to reckon with
    Cheers,
    Johnny.

Leave a Reply

