Change

“Here’s To The Crazy Ones. The misfits. The rebels. The trouble-makers. The round pegs in the
square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules, and they have
no respect for the status-quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify, or vilify them.
About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the
human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius.
Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world – are the ones who DO!”

I was rather surprised when I saw the credit to Steve Jobs at the end of this quote. Maybe I shouldn’t be, he was, after all, a master salesman, and they know how to imply themselves in compliments they make about others in order to further their own goals. Manipulation 101. I digress.

wired.com

Before I go on with what I really want to write about, I just wanted to mention that I don’t hate apple. I am indifferent, if not impartial to the merits of apple computers. Since the market has grown so enourmously, one of their main merits has also gone out the window (pun intended), which would be security. Why security? A higher market share means there is more profit in hacking them as well, and every system has its weaknesses to be exploited. I digress.

brunokramm.wordpress.com

Of course, this is about me, again. I not only have no respect for the status-quo, I find it utterly unacceptable. I have, since I know what believing is, believed that change is not only desireable and possible, but necessary and unavoidable.

hqwallpapers4free.com

But it is always a trading game. Nothing comes without a price. What price are we ready to pay? Do we have a say in it? A few posts ago, I said we are systematically insignificant. It doesn’t matter for the whole if an individual exists or not. I need to revise this statement. That is under the condition that we play by the system’s rules. The sytem forces its rules on everyone who has the (bad) luck of being in our position. The moment we misbehave, in terms of the system, we become significant. The system reacts, trying to discourage misbehaviour. I am not talking about any specific system. I am talking about the ominous status-quo, but really, every system has the goal to perpetuate itself, so misbehaviour is to be discouraged. But as soon as the system reacts to misbehaviour, it grants the misbehaviour special treatment. True, it attempts to fit the misfits into a subsystem to isolate them from the rest of the system, but every system has a limited capacity for misbehaviour before the ratio of normal and special treatment reaches a critical value, and the system must break or change, accepting the misbehaviour as normal behaviour.

deviantart.com

So, in the words of Malcolm Reynolds, feat. Nathan Fillion, in Serenity (Joss Whedon), just before they maneuver their ship through an armada of homicidal maniacs, disguised as one of them: “I aim to misbehave”

2 thoughts on “Change

  1. I never like Jobs. I mean, “don’t speak ill of the dead” and all, but he was one of those people who are all rebellious when they are young, and then they grow up to be what they used to fight against. Wozniak on the other hand was true hacker, in the old sense of the word.
    And i get what you’re saying about status quo. IMO the only way to fight it is to get as many people as possible to “wake up” as some people say- to think for themselves and don’t let others decide their fate. Also a bit more compassion would be useful as well.
    Cheers,
    Johnny.

Leave a Reply

