Daily Prompt: This is your Life

If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.

I sure would. Why wouldn’t I? I’m far too curious not to. The real question is, would I take it seriously? Would I believe what it said in that book? I would certainly put it to the test. Well, that is, if I still have a life after I’ve read it. How dense is the information? How detailed is it?

I do believe to a degree that our lives are determined by factors beyond our control. Two of these factors are our genetics and where we are born, more importantly, in what social stratum we are born. I know, you’ll say now that in the western world, everyone can become anything. That is potentially true, but tendentially we don’t move much outside our stratum of origin, not considering extreme circumstances.

Of course, if there is anything in this life that is certain, it is change. When people say "in the foreseeable future", my reaction is to think "there is no foreseeable future". If most future events in this book turned out to be true, I would say it is an uncanny prognosis. Someone had to write it, even if it is a hypothetical book. It wouldn’t prove anything. And then there are the theories of the self-fulfilling prophecies. Or, the self-preventing prophecies. Because I know what my future might entail, I am inclined to test this. Try to fight the bad things that might happen, and/or achieve the good things. Like in my letter to my 14-year-old self, if I had read that back then, I’d be a different person now. Possibly, anyway. Would I have restrained from drinking too much alcohol? Would I have gone after my athletic ambitions? Would I be married and have 3 children, working as an engineer in a big company because I achieved my diploma in Physics?

It is idle to think of what could have been, but is it naïve to think that I can change my future, especially because or even though I know it?

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: This is your Life

  1. Yes I would. There have already been a couple of things in my life that I wish didn’t happen. If the story told you everything going forward, you would have to face the possibilities early and have the chance to take actions to prevent them.

    Of course, if it says you die due to a meteor striking the Earth and destroying the human race, you are kinda stuck in that regard. Some events may occur where there is little to no chance of avoiding it.

Leave a Reply

