Slash and Burn

Write 500 words on any topic you like. Now remove 250 of them without changing the essence of your post

That is today’s prompt from the daily post.

Let me start off by saying that I am not going to do that.

Now let me explain, why I am not going to do that.

I don’t change my posts. I may fix a type-o, but I don’t edit my posts. Everything I write is essential, to me and to my posts. Sure, I say I digress, and I ramble, but never do I cut it out, or else, you wouldn’t be reading about that.

I also don’t edit because I never look at what I write the same way when I read it later, say, in an hour. I am not on the same train of thought anymore. And when I take a train of thought, I don’t return to the station the train left from. Ever. It doesn’t exist anymore. It mostly has to do with that my trains of thought are a travel through time, not space, and as we know, the second law of thermodynamics doesn’t let us go back in time. I can recall pictures of that train station from past times, to reiterate the metaphor, but the pictures change, fade over time.

So, whenever I write, it is a truthful, albeit incomplete, account of my state of mind at the time. Changing that would be photoshopping a family picture. That doesn’t sound that bad to you, but to me, it corrupts the authenticity.

When a work is no longer in progress, I give it out of my hands unto the world. You can do with it whatever you want, as long as there remains at least one original

2 thoughts on “Slash and Burn

  1. Great post. Loved your expansion on the train of thought metaphor – and couldn’t agree more with your overarching stance. I also really appreciate the concept of ‘never reading it the same way’ — even for your own work. It is SO TRUE – we change, it changes – in years or an instance.

    Nice insights!!

Leave a Reply

