Perceptionism

This post goes out to the Lunatic, one of my favorite bloggers and a constant source of laughs, tears and inspiration

 

Today, I’m going to give you a piece of my mind. Literally. I am going to explain to you what I think of the world. My world.

My world is everything I can perceive, directly and indirectly. Directly, that would be the data my sensory organs can give me. When I say data, and you’re a computer person, don’t scold me for abusing your term. When I say Perceptionism, I’m don’t mean some obscure modern religion. Yes, I googled the term before I wrote this post. I decided that I don’t give a damn. For all that there is in the world, we have limited vocabulary, so a lot of things get the same name. They need to be seen in context to differentiate the content. That is where the “indirectly” comes into play. The context determines the content, and to recognize how they fit together, one requires training and experience. After all, I can’t “see” the internet. I need to interpret the region of the internet I am surfing and its content through my computer. The context of a geographical atlas is also enough for me to believe that the Fiji Islands exist.

Up to now this sounds a lot like Positivism. Or Neo-Positivism. I’ll admit, I haven’t developed a clear-cut theory yet. What I do know is that Positivism attempts to create an objective middle ground, so only the kind of information, that everybody can perceive, counts. My Perceptionism, however, is completely subjective. Every experience at any given time is unique to every person. Of course, we have tools to share and compare these experiences, but they are imprecise at best, and quite crude. Note how I emphasize that it is MY Perceptionism. You might think of the term differently, and that is fine by me.

Now I also know at least one person in my audience who will interpret my post as another egotistical outburst. This is why I will also elaborate the consequences Perceptionism has for me.

· I can never truly know. I can observe and deduce. I can’t judge. I can get impressions, but I will never truly walk in other people’s shoes.

· Explaining myself is sometimes not only useless, but counterproductive. There are completely contradictory perceptions that can’t be reconciled. As long as they do not result in harmful behavior, they are best left alone.

· Meaning is not inherent, but ascribed. Life has no meaning, unless you want it, and then you see it.

What meaning do YOU see in your life?

3 thoughts on “Perceptionism

  1. Thank you for mentioning me, and saying things that mean a whole lot.

    “Explaining myself is sometimes not only useless, but counterproductive,” that is so true. Everything you wrote, I get. Thanks for putting it into words.

Leave a Reply

