What is the most precious thing you’ve ever lost?

When I sifted through the comments of the new and old daily prompt from the Daily Post, I found a lot of cat answers. My cat was also very precious to me, but not the kind of thing I would take with me into a stinking cave with a dreary waterhole. Just think, that poor fella went all the way to Mordor and jumped into a pit of Lava just to hold his precious again…

What did you expect, honestly? Precious… Gollum reference… Newsflash: Geek-squad omnipresence on the Web!

Ok, back to the question at hand. The most precious thing I’ve ever lost was my health, but then again, that was only the perception of loss, because it was preprogrammed to happen. I never had that health to begin with. I can work to retain what I have left, regain some physical fitness, but let’s face it: My body is a wreck. Still floating, but it will take a lot of pumping until the water is out of the hull, and more leak patching before it can go to any speed beyond the surrounding current.

5 thoughts on “What is the most precious thing you’ve ever lost?

  1. Everything is relative – to use a tired old expression. Are you healthy or are you not healthy? Because I am SO close to you, I have anguished over your condition since it was revealed at the age of 3 months – and yet I know there are people who are much, much worse off than you are. I would say you are relatively healthy, because you can still hide it from other people. Many people have conditions that they cannot hide.

      1. I didn’t intend for it to sound like that. You read it that way. which says more about you than about me. There is evidence that the two problems are related – the thyroid steers so much in our bodies.

      2. I think it says that you are still pretty concerned about it – and I am too. I dread to allow my thoughts to dwell on the subject too long, because it would bum me out too much.

Leave a Reply

