What is the happiest time in your life?

There’s no time like the present. I’ve heard many people say that, mostly to convince themselves that living in the past or the future is not healthy, be it dreaming of better days and reminiscing on the good old times, or dreading the future and reliving the horrors of the past. I don’t know many people who live in the Here-and-Now, for the moment.

One of these people seems to be me. The Here-and-Now is the happiest time in my life. That has advantages and disadvantages, too, but with the knowledge that everything passes, I usually get through the hard parts of Here-and-Now. I’m not saying that I don’t remember anything good in the past, any times that made me happy, but I don’t dwell, and I don’t try to relive a previous part of my life; “You could not step twice into the same river; for other waters are ever flowing on to you” (Heraclitus).

Now, you might say “What about your science fiction novels?” Well, I like to fantasize about the future. I also make plans for events months ahead of time. The latter is necessary, the first is fun, but I do it in the present. I’ll admit that writing fiction and dreaming have a lot in common, but it is not enough for me to concede, because the writing happens in the present, and it is something productive. Also, my science fiction is hardly about myself.

Happy is simply my natural mood, unless it is overwritten by something else. In those situations, I simply suffer, and not always with grace, but with the knowledge that it will pass.

Leave a Reply

