What are you good at?

This is easy to answer, and also kind of hard.

The easy part is where I say all kinds of stuff that may, or, may not, be true, depending on how you measure it. I used to be a great athlete, and some traits of that are still around, so I am really good at mustering a hellish burst of strength and speed, but I’m no good at using that, as I have no condition. I’m good with words, and people, but I don’t have the set of mind to use that to my advantage. I have a very broad basis of knowledge, and the inclination to show it off, but I don’t have the discipline to get a proper degree beyond maybe a bachelor’s. So, whatever I am good at, I’m also not good at it. I like to play, I like to fantasize. I create elaborate universes with complex political, social and mythological backgrounds for fun. I like to think of scenarios that are set in these make-belief worlds. It didn’t start with Roleplaying Games, but they sure fostered the fantastic Me. I write because I’m good at doing what I do for fun: I fantasize. I just need to muster the discipline to work out the details and make them consistent with my knowledge. That’s the hard part, again 😉

4 thoughts on “What are you good at?

      1. I do. There are times when I have given up because I felt overwhelmed by a challenge. If I regret anything, it’s that.

  1. “I create elaborate universes with complex political, social and mythological backgrounds for fun.”

    I am in a similar boat, though I am hoping to focus on the social and mythological side of things. Though, it does not always seem fun, as it can be overwhelming in parts.

    Discipline is always the hard thing these days. There is always something else to do or think about, so to focus can be very hard at times.

Leave a Reply

