Posted on

Daily Prompt: I got Skills

If you could choose to be a master (or mistress) of any skill in the world, which skill would you pick?

There are lots of things I would really like to be able to do, even if it were only the basics to develop from. Mostly I am thinking of crafting skills. I am already not too bad with wood, but I lack practice. I am assuming we are talking about magically acquiring the skills, because some of the things I would really like to be good at come with a lot of work, practice, and also danger.

Take one of my hobbies, medieval sword fighting. I don’t go to training very often. In fact, I haven’t been to training in almost a year now. The training swords are rather heavy to slow us down, which doesn’t work that well with me, mainly because I grew up in a village, doing lots of manual labor, and additionally went to the gym for a few years. Most people who are into that kind of thing are nerds, often physically underdeveloped or too fat. Well, those who have been doing it longer get healthier and stronger, but they got a lot of catching up to do. Don’t misunderstand me, I am also a nerd, or a geek, whatever you like, and before I digress any more, the point is, when I’m in the mix, I have to watch out that I don’t hurt anyone seriously. The practicing swords may not be sharp, but a moment of distraction can mean a broken arm, or even a bashed-in skull.

The craft I would like to be able to work at a master’s level is directly related to medieval sword fighting: Weapon smith. Long swords, broad swords, great swords, scimitars, kukri, katanas, daggers, rapiers, epees, axes large and small, younameit…

I know most of the theory behind medieval weapons and smithing, I just don’t have the equipment and the time. Well, I would have the time, but I don’t have the money for the equipment or the training, and if a little green fairy could just give me that, well, that would be swell

About NicoLite Великий

I studie(d) cultural anthropology after flunking physics. Most people I meet are intrigued by my inherent harmless weirdness, though it is often difficult to follow my train of thoughts, let alone jump onto it. I blog to entertain people with this weirdness, and possibly learn more about myself (My Mind is just one weird train station. 'Tis only an analogy. I am not particularly fond of trains)

7 responses to “Daily Prompt: I got Skills

  1. If I seen that elusive little green fairy I’ll make sure to send it your direction.

  2. Great post! I am also quite interested in weapon smithing and swordfighting! In fact, I will be building a forge once I graduate from college and beginning to learn! I have never gotten to do any actual class sword training, so if you are willing, I would love to talk swordfighting and smithing!

    • Yeah that’d be cool. It’s no substitute for practise, but there are modern fencing books based on Lichtensteiger’s original that can help you familiarize yourself with the stances – Lichtensteiger was mostly about duelling with the long sword, but his principles hold for most bladed weapons suitable for slashing and/or thrusting

      • Ah ok awesome! Thanks for the tip! I’ll check that out sometime! How long have you practiced?

      • It’s been an on and off thing for a year or so, between looking for a job and an apartment in a new town, but I got some experience in LARP before that. Completely different deal, though. Even with wood or polymer practice swords, it hurts like hell when you get a direct hit, no matter the armor, well, maybe except for plate armor, but I haven’t had that luxury yet

  3. Ah alright! The only real experience I have so far is with some freestyle sparring with a friend. We use oak dowels padded with pool noodles to fight, but for now, we still have to be careful around head, neck, hands, and groin.

Leave a Reply

