Posted on

Daily prompt: Stroke of Midnight

Where were you last night when 2012 turned into 2013? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

First post of the new year, and of course it’s about the moment when 2012 turned 2013, at least in GMT+1. I was in the pub below my best friends – and my – apartment, with my best friend, drinking. What else do you do in a pub, and what else do you do at midnight on Dec 31st? Was I where I wanted to be? I wouldn’t have been there if I didn’t. Well, I wanted to be there short term. What do I mean? 

A year ago, I was in Berlin, hosting to very beautiful and nice ladies from Paris. We had lots of alcohol, and lots of fun, and we became friends. So, naturally, they invited me to spend the next New Year’s Eve – this one – in Paris with them. You might ask, why wasn’t I in Paris last night? 

First of all, I don’t have the money. I would have had the money if my boss weren’t a slob. Wel, I probably wouldn’t, because I took this course so I can advance my career as a security guard, and it cost about as much as my boss still owes me. How did I pay for that? Well, what are parents there for when you’re in a tight spot…

Aside from the money issue, the French ladies had also forgotten that they had invited me. Maybe we didn’t make concrete plans early enough. One went to the south of France to visit with friends and family, the other went somewhere else, I forgot where. 

So, While I went to the pub of my own volition, I wasn’t where I envisioned myself for New Years Eve about half a year ago. Where do I want to be next New Year’s Eve? It’s High time I went to Glasgow again. It’s been almost 10 years, and I do like Scotland a lot.

About NicoLite Великий

I studie(d) cultural anthropology after flunking physics. Most people I meet are intrigued by my inherent harmless weirdness, though it is often difficult to follow my train of thoughts, let alone jump onto it. I blog to entertain people with this weirdness, and possibly learn more about myself (My Mind is just one weird train station. 'Tis only an analogy. I am not particularly fond of trains)

One response to “Daily prompt: Stroke of Midnight

  1. Pingback: I OFFER FRIENDSHIP « hastywords

Leave a Reply

